NFHCA Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2017

Sep 20, 2017

GILBERT, Ariz. - Lock Haven Head Coach Pat Rudy, former Bryn Mawr Head Coach Jenepher Shillingford and former Walpole (Mass.) Head Coach Penny Calf have been selected as the members of the class of 2017 for induction into the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Hall of Fame, it was announced on Wednesday.

The three distinguished individuals will be formally inducted into the NFHCA Hall of Fame at an awards ceremony held during the 2018 NFHCA Annual Convention from January 10-12 at Marriott Orlando Lake Mary in Lake Mary, Florida.

Pat Rudy PatRudy

Rudy is in her 22nd season as head coach of Lock Haven in 2017, as the 1977 graduate returned to her alma mater in 1996 after serving as head coach at Cortland State from 1981-95. Rudy entered this fall's campaign with 583 career wins and has led her programs to outstanding success. Lock Haven made it to the NCAA Division II national title contest in two of her first three seasons, then won the national title in 2000 before advancing to the national semifinals in each of the next two years. Rudy led Lock Haven's return to the Division I level in 2004, and the squad won five regular-season titles and four tournament championships in its first six seasons in the Northeast Conference while making the NCAA Tournament in four straight years from 2006-09. During her time at Lock Haven, Rudy has coached four national players of the year as well as multiple All-Americans and conference award winners.

Prior to returning to her alma mater, Rudy recorded a 217-67-13 record in her 15 seasons at Cortland State. She led the Red Dragons to consecutive NCAA Division III national titles in 1993 and 1994 and directed her team to 12 NCAA Tournament appearances in her tenure. Rudy is a three-time national coach of the year.

Jenepher Shillingford JenepherShillingford

Shillingford served as the head coach at Bryn Mawr from 1976-1998, and recorded 169 victories in her tenure. She also spent four seasons as the school's basketball coach and two coaching both women's tennis and lacrosse. Shillingford led Bryn Mawr to its three winningest seasons by totaling 11 victories in 1981, 1985 and 1986.

Shillingford's contributions to the sport and collegiate athletics go far beyond her on-field accomplishments. She served as the president of USA Field Hockey from 1993-2000 and was a United States Olympic Committee member from 2001-03. Shillingford worked as the Director of Athletics at Bryn Mawr from 1980-98, then founded the Centennial Conference Snell-Shillingford Symposium in 1999 as a way to encourage female undergraduates from each of the conference institutions to enter the field of coaching.

Shillingford's honors include the ECAC Katherine Ley Award (1992), NACWAA Administrator of the Year (1993) and Women's eNews Philadelphia Leadership Award (2012). She is a member of both the Ursinus College and Radnor High School Hall of Fame, and was selected as a USA Field Hockey Hall of Fame Honorary Member in 1974. Shillingford was a goalkeeper for the USA Field Hockey squad from 1955-57.

Penny Calf PennyCalf

Calf directed the Walpole field hockey program to amazing success in her tenure as varsity head coach from 1989-2001. The squad posted a 274-12-7 record over the 13-season span and had great success at the state and regional level in Massachusetts with seven Division I state titles, eight South Sectional championships and 12 Bay State League titles.

Calf was a three-time winner of the Boston Globe Field Hockey Coach of the Year award, and was named the newspaper's Sportswoman of the Year in 1999 when she also claimed the Massachusetts State Coaches Association Coach of the Year honor. Calf was also a six-time honoree of the Bay State League Field Hockey Coach of the Year award. She was selected as the NFHCA Regional Coach of the Year in 2000 and also won the NFHCA Junior Hockey Award. Calf had led the Walpole junior varsity field hockey squad to outstanding success from 1970-88, and also spent 26 years as the school's junior varsity girls' basketball coach.

All NFHCA Hall of Fame nominations are evaluated and voted on by a select committee. There have been at least three inductees to the NFHCA Hall of Fame in each season since 2001.

© 2018 MHC Class of 1968. All Rights Reserved.
Site by Kate Gombos '92, Gombos Consulting, LLC